On Wednesday night, the South African government updated its list of red-list countries from which tourists are deemed ‘high risk’.

This is in relation to the ongoing Covid-19 global pandemic.

The relevant ministries are categorizing countries as high, medium, or low risk.

The updated list was announced at a press conference on Wednesday night by international relations minister Naledi Pandor.

Leisure travellers from countries listed as ‘high risk’ will not be allowed into South Africa. These are mainly countries with infection rates higher than South Africa’s.

Among them are the United States, United Kingdom and France. Brazil had earlier been ommitted from the list but was later also rated ‘high risk’.

The only exceptions from these countries will be diplomats, sports people on sports business, investors and those with high-skill visas.

Here is the full list of the high risk countries. The list will be reviewed and updated every fortnight.

Albania Albania Armenia Austria Bahrain Belgium
Bolivia Bosnia and H Brazil Chile Columbia Costa Rica
Croatia Czech Republic Denmark Equador France Georgia
Greece Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary Iceland
India Iran Iraq Ireland Israel Jamaica
Jordan Kuwait Lebanon Luxemburg Maldives Malta
Mexico Moldova Montenegro Nepal Netherlands North Macedonia
Oman Palestine Panama Paraguay Peru Portugal
Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Slovakia Suriname
Switzerland Ukraine United Emirates United Kingdom USA Venezuela